From the news desk

ANC wins 10 wards, DA one in by-elections

Share this article

The African National Congress won 10 of the 11 wards contested in Wednesday’s by-elections, with the Democratic Alliance winning one, the Electoral Commission of SA (IEC) said on Thursday.

The elections saw the ANC take two wards, one from an independent candidate and another from the DA.

“From an independent candidate to the ANC in Ward 5 Tsolwana [Tarkastad] in the Eastern Cape,” the IEC said in a statement.

“From the DA to the ANC in Ward six in Tswaing [Delareyville], North West.”

The DA took Ward seven in Bitou [Greater Plettenberg Bay] in the Western Cape from the ANC.

One ward, Ward 24 in the Greater Taung [Reivilo] municipality in the North West, was uncontested.

The ANC retained the remaining seven wards.

The IEC said voter turnout varied between 29.35 percent and 72.43 percent with an average of 48.35 percent.

By-elections took place in the Eastern Cape, Free State, Gauteng, KwaZulu-Natal, Mpumalanga, North West, and the Western Cape.

A total of 63,466 voters were registered in the 65 voting districts.

The eleven wards were contested by 32 candidates representing nine political parties, and five independent candidates. SAPA

Share this article
WhatsApp WhatsApp us
Wait a sec, saving restore vars.