From the news desk

EFF top six unopposed

Share this article

The Economic Freedom Fighters top six were elected on Sunday with Julius Malema retaining his position as party president. Floyd Shivambu was elected deputy president, Dali Mpofu as national chairperson, Godrich Gardee as secretary general, Hlengiwe Hlophe as deputy and Magdelene Monomsamy as treasurer.

The more than 2600 delegates cheered and ululated, as the top six were nominated unopposed. There was, however, some tension when national co-ordinator Mpho Ramakatsa challenged Gardee.

Gardee was nominated and received enough votes to meet the threshold, while Ramakatsa could not meet the threshold and dropped out of contention, leaving Gardee to secure the title.

Emotions ran high towards the end of the nomination period when delegates wanted to leave the hall before a decision regarding the treasurer was reached. Security had to close the doors and prevent delegates from walking out.

Malema intervened and urged that the results be announced so that
delegates could leave. Once the names were called, Shivambu immediately
released the delegates for the night. The conference continues on Monday with more members to be elected for the remaining positions. The elective congress was expected to end on Tuesday. SAPA

Share this article
WhatsApp WhatsApp us
Wait a sec, saving restore vars.