From the news desk

Kolisi scoops top SA Rugby award for 2021

Share this article


Siya Kolisi has been named the SA Rugby Player of the Year for 2021.

This after the popular Springbok captain garnered the most votes for his performances during a tough season. He becomes the first Bok captain since Jean de Villiers in 2013 to win the top award.

The 30-year-old was named the MTN Springbok of the Lions Series and was the only Springbok to play all 13 Tests last year. This included a stunning play to bring home the 2-1 win over the British and Irish Lions. He also headed the team to a nail-biting victory against the over the All Blacks in the Rugby Championship tournament.

The Springboks itself was named Team of the Year.

Other winners :
Young Player of the Year: Aphelele Fassi from the Sharks
Springbok Women’s Player of the Year: Lusanda Dumke
Springbok Sevens Player of the Year: Ronald Brown
Junior Springbok Player of the Year: Henco van Wyk

Coach of the Year: Jake White (Vodacom Bulls)
Currie Cup Premier Division Player of the Year: Elrigh Louw (Vodacom Bulls)
Currie Cup First Division Player of the Year: Dylan Maart (Boland Kavaliers)
Provincial Women’s Player of the Year: Lusanda Dumke (Border Ladies)
Test Try of the Year: Cheslin Kolbe – Springboks v British & Irish Lions (third Test)


Share this article
WhatsApp WhatsApp us
Wait a sec, saving restore vars.