From the news desk

VOC Community Forum Operational Guidelines

Share this article

The Voice of The Cape is excited to announce the launch of its Community Forum (CF) Elections this 2021!

Following numerous unforeseen setbacks brought on by the Covid-19 pandemic in 2020, the Community Forum Election Committee (CFEC) ultimately had its Inaugural Operational Guidelines ratified by VOC’s Board of Management (BOM) and Board of Trust (BOT).

Click here to view the full: Inaugaral CF Operational Guidelines

Among others, the CF’s main aim is to ensure the participation of the community in the development of programmes and to facilitate community access to such programmes.

Hence, the forum seeks to establish a relationship with the community and stimulate communication that is productive, representative, transparent, inclusive and takes forward the all-encompassing message of Al-Quran and the Sunnah of the Prophet Muhammad (PBUH).

The CF aims to:

  • Enhance VOC’s broadcasting through community involvement
  • Foster working relationship between the station and the community
  • Facilitate programming content that reflects the opinions, insight & accomplishments of community
  • Promote active citizenship within communities
  • Increase the footprint of the station
  • Stimulate economic and educational empowerment

Who qualifies?

Participants must abide by the principles of, and in conformity with, the Quran and Sunnah and Constitution of RSA. The person hoping to become part of the CF must meet the following minimum criteria:

  • Be a practicing Sunni Muslim
  • Be of good repute and character
  • Be community orientated
  • Be a South African citizen or have official documentation

More about the CF

The CF shall be made of 34 active members in the seven magisterial districts in the Western Cape, who will serve a four-year term of office.  Meetings must occur regularly, including the CF EXCO which shall meet at least once monthly and the entire CF at least quarterly. Sub committees may be appointed as the need arises. Minutes of meetings and financial records must be provided to the BOM timeously and remain the property of the Muslim Broadcasting Corporation.

Representatives must be elected from each of the seven magisterial districts (and sub districts) as listed below. One representative from every magisterial district will make up the CF EXCO.

Cape Town Central Magisterial District (5)

Cape Town Central

Main Seat: Cape Town

Sub District: Atlantis

Sub District: Bellville

Sub District: Goodwood

Sub District: Kuils Rivier


Cape Town South Magisterial District (6)

Cape Town South

Main Seat: Wynberg

Sub District: Khayelitsha

Sub District: Mitchells Plain

Sub District: Simon’s Town

Sub District: Somerset West

Sub District: Strand


Cape Winelands Magisterial Districts (5)

Cape Winelands

Main Seat: Worcester

Sub District: Drakenstei

Sub District: Langeberg

Sub District: Stellenbosch

Sub District: Witzenberg


Central Karoo Magisterial District (3)

Central Karoo

Main Seat: Beaufort West

Sub District: Laingsburg

Sub District: Prince Albert


Eden Magisterial District  (6)


Main Seat: George

Sub District: Hessequa

Sub District: Kannaland

Sub District: Knysna

Sub District: Mossel Bay

Sub District: Oudtshoorn


Overberg Magisterial District  (4)

Overberg Magisterial District

Main Seat: Hermanus

Sub District: Cape Algulhas

Sub District: Swellendam

Sub District: Theewaterskloof


West Coast Magisterial District (5)

West Coast

Main Seat: Vredendal

Sub District: Bergrivier

Sub District: Cederberg

Sub District: Saldanha Bay

Sub District: Swartland

For more information email: or contact CFEC’s Khalid Badi on 021 442 3583 between 8am-4pm.


Share this article
WhatsApp WhatsApp us
Wait a sec, saving restore vars.